Blush Novelties Gaia Eco Vibrator Review

20160913_181632

I’m a marketers dream and genuinely love a gimmick so when I was approached by Blush Novelties  to try their new Gaia Eco vibrator I was impressed when reading the USP. Basically the Gaia Eco is an environmentally friendly vibe, the world’s first biodegradable vibrator, made of Biofeel which is a bioplastic compound mixed with cornstarch. Not only does this make the Gaia Eco biodegradable and recyclable but also body safe too, which is always a tick in my book.

20160913_181642

Doing a little research whilst waiting for my Gaia Eco to arrive I was impressed to read that the Eco uses less energy than any sex toy on the market, creating less greenhouse gas emissions. This is a bold claim and in the current climate where we are more environmentally responsible than ever this could be a real draw for the Gaia Eco. When my parcel arrived I was surprised by how light it was and when I opened it was struck by how clean and contemporary the packaging looked, however the Gaia Eco itself felt quite retro in design reminding me of the old-fashioned vibrators of my mum’s day.

20160913_181658

The Gaia Eco is a slim shaft with a tapered point. It comes in a range of 3 pretty colours, Eco Green, Eco Aqua and Eco Coral which is the version I opted for. The entire length of the Gaia Eco is 7 inches but only 5.75 inches of that is insertable, with a width of an inch. This is not one for the Size Queens. The Gaia Eco is battery operated and requires 2 AA batteries which live in the base of the shaft much like the retro vibes I assume it’s modeled on. The motor is operated by a dial on the base which also doubles as the battery cover, again quite a retro style. The dial can be used to increase the speed of the vibration though there are no variations in pattern, this isn’t a negative for me as I’m not a fan of patterned vibration anyway. The speed difference between high and low is quite impressive and there is a decent strength to the vibrations, especially for a battery operated toy. The Biofeel is hard to describe. It’s smooth with a slight texture which let’s you know it’s not plastic, there is a slight mottling to the coral colour and the finish is kind of matt. Blush Novelties market the Gaia Eco as being able to be used internally or externally so I decided to try both.

20160913_182908

Despite its lack of size or girth the texture of the Gaia Eco made me feel the need for lube and as I stroked my hand down the length of the Eco I clicked why I was struggling to feel that arousal I usually feel when trying a new toy, it didn’t feel particularly like a sex toy. I can’t quite put my finger on why but I felt a bit like I was about to penetrated myself with a household object as opposed to a vibrator, it may have been the plasticky texture. The Biofeel has no give to it whatsoever and feels solid as I pressed it against myself. In terms of penetration the Gaia Eco didn’t really do it for me. I’m by no means a size queen but there was just no stretch to the Eco and that left me wanting. It doesn’t have the correct design to touch my G Spot and I found even with significant maneuvering I couldn’t do it which left me disappointed and frustrated. The vibration internally just made this more annoying. Realising I wasn’t going to cum like this I decided to switch to using the Gaia Eco externally.

20160913_182950

Nestling the tapered tip of the Gaia Eco alongside my clit I started the dial to the lowest setting. This felt good. I felt my frustrated body begin to relax into the sensations and gradually began to crank the dial up to meet the needy demands of my clit. I soon found I was at maximum speed and began stroking the tip across my clit for added stimulation as I felt my orgasm building. It took a little while but eventually I came and it was a decent climax too.

20160917_151851

The Gaia Eco isn’t overly noisy until you have it at full speed, then it’s a bit loud but nothing a duvet or telly couldn’t disguise if you needed discretion. In terms of cleaning the Biofeel is super simple to clean with warm water and soap. The Gaia Eco is also waterproof which makes it a great toy for bathtime fun. My overall feeling about the Gaia Eco is that I love the concept but wish the design was a bit “more”. I would love it to be thicker so that I could enjoy using it for penetration before using it as a clitoral vibrator. I like the retro feel and the environmentally responsible factor is great for the conscientious vibrator fan but I do feel ultimately you would be buying the toy for pleasure and a little more size would definitely assist this. I would recommend the Gaia Eco to those that enjoy using bullets or similar clit stimulation toys but if you’re looking for an internal vibrator this is unlikely to ring your bell. I’d give the Gaia Eco by Blush Novelties a 6/10 as I feel half the intended function wasn’t there for me.

The Gaia Eco was sent to me by Blush Novelties in exchange for an honest impartial review.

20160917_152002_20160917152202261

Leave a Reply

